Madeline, Distichiasis

0It started with a bad week of vog while the mango trees were blooming.   Both Madeline & Boomer (& me, & a number of my human friends!) get itchy eyes when the mango trees bloom, & the vog can just get really terrible.   Everyone gets sick.   Madeline’s eyes swelled up from the double whammy & she exacerbated it by scratching.   I stop her when I see her rubbing her face on the grass or carpet, but I wasn’t super vigilant.   Now I know better.  Stop her from doing that, always.   I don’t let her out of my sight any more.

At right, Madeline sleeping against me while I held a paper towel over her eye.  We fell asleep that way.   She seemed to feel better with that towel over her eye.

After a week her eye was still irritated, which was longer than expected.   I tried cold compresses, but she didn’t like that.   So I did warm compresses, & I started giving her warm eye baths.

After a few days of that, she opened her right eye again & I saw that her cornea was cloudy & there was red (blood?) within it.   I freaked out.   I Googled “dog cloudy eye” & read about how canine keratitis can lead to blindness.   But mostly I was horrified that I’d let her suffer that long.

Of course, I discovered this on a Friday night.   I stayed up after I got home from work Sunday night (Monday morning, technically) so I could call our veterinarian as soon as they opened.   I got an appointment that afternoon.

Our vet diagnosed an ulcer on Madeline’s right eye from her eyelashes scratching the cornea, & a failed tear duct on her left eye, making her more prone to infection.   I was given eye drops (3x a day until the bacterial infection resolved) for her right eye & ointment (twice a day for the rest of her life).   The ointment costs $50 for a tiny tube.   No sushi bar for me for a loooong time.

After one week, Madeline was greatly improved.   By the 3rd week, her ulcer was gone & there is now just a little bit of cloudiness (scarring), which our vet said will eventually fade away by itself.   Madeline’s wide eyed again & has been extra bouncy & waggy since getting better; she’s definitely happy to be well again!

Here are pictures of her eyes in the 1st & 2nd week of treatment.   The redness isn’t blood but actually granulation (tissue that is healing).

04-20 Madeline's eye

And here’s Madeline’s eye in the 3rd week.   I don’t have any more recent close up photos, but her eye is almost all clear now; there is just a small area of cloudiness around 10:00.

04-25 Madeline's eye

Leave a Reply

